My First Impressions of TOK

Hey Readers;are you as confused as I am???
It is a bit MINDBOGGLING
Before studying it I thought it would be one of those subjects where pupils cram into Riches Lecture Theatre and the teachers drone on at you but (after reading the first chapter) I see now it is very individually oriented and gives you a chance to input your own ideas.Mr Saha made us look at this powerpoint which asked ”what is knowledge?” We came up with a few ideas and it was quite relaxed but I didn’t know how I would take it further and it worried me when we were told if we failed TOK we wouldnt get the IB Diploma. I even heard rumors of some people in the year above who had used lots of technical language and had not done so well (at their mock)-I bet i’ve got lots of grammatical errors in this post already.:(

After a while of silently worrying I actually found myself randomly linking up ideas in my head and wondering if they had anything to do with TOK. I think once I properly grasp the subject it may not be as difficult and turn out to be not only interesting but not as monotonous as I thought it would be… While being taught other subjects, the teachers would sometimes label something as a TOK point and I’d find myself becoming gradually more comfortable with the idea of TOK;it handily seemed to fit into everything!!

Au Revoir for now 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chtok
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 14:49:58

    A good first post, Chanel. You have responded in an open way to the questions and challenges of a new ‘subject’. I am pleased to hear that you are already seeing how TOK fits into your IB subjects. I hope that you might already feel more comfortable with the idea of what TOK is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

